Being a ballerina for me isn’t just dancing, it’s expressing who I am through movement. Sometimes I like to give myself a character to play while in class, so that I don’t lose that emotion that makes dancing so beautiful. And yes even though Ballet is such a gorgeous and graceful dance style, it comes with a great amount of pain and perseverance that not everybody can handle. So you just remember next time you go see Swan Lake or the Nutcracker that those dancers are smiling even though their pain level is at 100 on a scale of 1-10! Changing topics, since it is audition season right now I thought I would share my opinion on this. Going out of town to go to a summer intensive isn’t something you should rush into. This year, even though I will be auditioning for some , I will not be going to any intensives. I will be auditioning for Cincinnati Ballet and Nashville Ballet just for some experience, and also to know what to expect next year when I do plan on going to one. But if you are younger and all your friends are going to a Summer intensive, don’t feel the need to go just because your friends are going, go because you feel you are physically AND mentally ready! Don’t let ANYONE tell you what you are and aren’t ready for! 

All of these things are part of my life as a ballerina! ~Sara